Library

IY came home from school the other day asking “Mama, library tu macam mana? Banyak buku ke?”. I explained to him all about library and he was just too excited to go to one. I figured it’s about time we introduce him to the place.

So I googled for libraries around town yang child-friendly. I haven’t been to the library for sooooo long since the uni days. And of course, I have NEVER been to the kids section before. I don’t know what to expect. I want a place yang cantik kemas bersih and paling penting boleh buat bising! I know my kids won’t even stay still for a second! And they are loud. IY pulak can’t read senyap-senyap. I want him to read out loud sebab he’s still new at this. I need to hear him to correct him if needed. So to be in a kid’s library yang senyap is ridiculous if you ask me.

I posted on IG and FB about my quest to find the library and a lot my friends and followers have suggested PPAS (Perbadanan Perpustakaan Awam Selangor) or also known as Perpustakaan Raja Tun Uda in Shah Alam. At first I was like whoaaa Shah Alam! Jauh nye. So I senyap la kejap. But IY kept pestering me with “bila nak pergi library ni?” or “abang tak pernah pun pergi library (sila baca dengan nada sedih)”. Oh anak!

We finally gave in and decided to go to Shah Alam. And it wasn’t that far actually. Waze-d ourselves to the location and the journey was about 30 mins from our Cheras home.

The tree I was talking about

How cool is the tree? Spot Z who’s ready to run around!

The place is super fun! And it’s noisy. The have a corner with a small stage and also a corner with a big tv complete with bean bags for the kids to laze around. When we arrived, Cloudy With A Chance of Meatball was on. IY was this close to sit and watch but I said “kalau abang datang sini nak tengok tv, jom balik bukak HBO cite ni dah 10x ulang”. Haha! So he moved on to the shelves and find books to read. He was like so rambang mata seeing all the books!

He has this habit of wanting me to listen when he reads. I he finds me looking at the phone or doing something else, he would say "mama, kena focus kat anak". Oh my!

He has this habit of wanting me to listen when he reads. I he finds me looking at the phone or doing something else, he would say “mama, kena focus kat anak”. Oh my!

There’s a big fake tree in the library where we could read books under it. Or in Z’s case, we could golek-golek macam cerita Hindustan. Hehe! Speaking of Z, he was not interested in the books even for a bit! Sibuk berlari from one end to another and jumping and laughing like nobody’s business. Maybe he thinks this is Kizsports kot. Tinggal tak de slides and trampoline je!

Don't be fooled by this cheeky smile. I was trying hard to make him focus on the book but he didn't even blink!

Don’t be fooled by this cheeky smile. I was trying hard to make him focus on the book but he didn’t even blink. Sorry mommy, playing and running is more fun!

Clearly I wasn't ready! Sheeshhhh ayah!

Clearly I wasn’t ready! Sheeshhhh ayah!

Was looking for him when he didn't come back to the tree. Found him somewhere at the corner reading. Awww!!

Was looking for him when he didn’t come back to the tree. Found him somewhere at the corner reading. Awww!!

We lasted for about 2 hours until both boys started to run around and bergolek-golek. I knew that’s the que to go home. We had fun and I’m glad the boys’ first visit to a library was a nice library. We might try the ones nearer to our place in KL and hopefully it’s gonna be as good as this one.

Singgah Setia City Mall for a quick playground time and early dinner. Oh I love this big field here! Kite flying, bubble chasing and pefect picnic spot! You lucky Shah Alam people!!

Singgah Setia City Mall for a quick playground time and early dinner. Oh I love this big field here! Kite flying, bubble chasing and perfect picnic spot! You lucky Shah Alam people!!

-Pu3-

4 thoughts on “Library

  1. Brought my 4 kids there last month. Their first time to a library.

    Memang berlari-lari then berguling-guling near the big tree. Lepas tu terlompat-lompat nak try tangkap ikan. They had so much fun.

Leave a Reply

